What are the 5-elements?


Learning Activity: Exploring the 5 Elements 

Activity Objective: 

To examine the basics of 5-element shiatsu in order to determine if it’s right for you

  • What are the 5-elements?

Activity Instructions:

 Wood Element:

  • Wood Meridians: Gallbladder and Liver
  • Emotion: Anger
  • Yearns to do,be in charge,makes rules, demands freedom, invincible
  • Values: action, challenge, uniqueness, independence, achievement  

Fire Element:

  • Fire Meridians: Heart, Small Intestine, Pericardium, and Triple Heater
  • Emotion: Joy
  • Lives in the moment, loves saying yes, desires sensation/feeling
  • Values: intimacy, spontaneity, expression, passion, merging

Earth Element:

  • Earth Meridians: Stomach and Spleen
  • Emotion: Worry
  • Being a the still point, wanting to be needed, desiring change
  • Values: relationships, stability, sharing, harmony, Loyalty

Metal Element:

  • Metal Meridians: Lung and Large Intestine
  • Emotion: Grief
  • Likes creativity, aspires toward beauty, knows what is right
  • Values: order, purity, reason, simplicity, quality, standards

Water Element:

  • Water Meridians: Bladder and Kidney
  • Emotion: Fear
  • yearns for truth, connection..yet enjoys being left alone
  • Values: Solitude, mystery, originality, privacy

Now you have:

  1. a self-care plan
  2. a basics understanding of shiatsu
  3. a basics understanding of the 5-elements

 But how do you know if it’s right for you?

The best way is to try a 5-element Shiatsu Treatment!

I hope these activities have helped you better understand your self-care plan and how receiving 5-element shiatsu might help improve your self-care plan!

Self-reflection: Do you feel you have meet the learning objectives? Why? Why not?